exposed

So, i wrote a song. Now, i know what you’re thinking…

“Carrie! I didn’t know you wrote songs!”

And that’s because i DON’T. However, in the wake of a breakup, a new hobby is nice. I decided that new hobby would be the guitar. I’ve had this tiny guitar since i was 12. I suppose my father hoped it would catch on. It did not. For about 15 years, i would pull it out once a year, spend an hour learning 2 chords, complain about my fingers hurting, and then toss it aside until next year.

Last month, i decided to stick with it. I think i could get into this. Now, don’t get me wrong, i’m not going to start pulling it out at parties and forcing you to listen, but, after finishing one song and starting a few others, i’ve found it very theraputic. I hoped i would one day feel confident enough to share it with friends, so i practiced video taping myself while singing it. For some reason, singing makes me break out in hives. I don’t know why, but it could have something to do with that tragic church music experience where i was suppose to sing the lyrics….

“These are the blessings of Chrismas that grow more precious each year”

but i forgot the words and sang…

“These are the blessings of Christmas that pooooooooo each year”

Tragic. Really. And highly inappropriate.

Fast forward to the present and you’ll find me with a shaking voice trying to video tape myself getting through a song just to see what happens. I shared it with people who don’t make fun of me… at least not a regular basis. They were encouraging. I decided i would make myself record it once again for my blog, but without bedhead, day old make up, and the unflattering camera angle. As fate would have it, that’s not going to happen, because i always procrastinate, always have bedhead, and i will always have a million excuses for why it doesn’t meet expectations. And then i realized that i would never again be able to use the best excuse ever: I’ve only been doing this for 2 weeks. So, here i am sharing my very first tester video song project with you.

Yep. I’m a rock star.

Leave a Reply

