blogging

Y’know what? I enjoy this blogging thing. Let’s talk about it.

Blogging is going to be my hobby for the next year… and maybe needlepoint… and sewing… and guitar… but mainly blogging.

I’ve been perusing other WordPress blogs. Being relatively unaware of how to most efficiently find good blogs, i’ve just been surfing categories. I started with entertainment. Hated it. I moved onto the arts. Hated it. I tried out the staff picks… and i now have very little faith in the WordPress staff.

I found that the category of “humor” appealed to me the most. It’s not that i’m just looking for a laugh, but i think people who classify themselves under “humor” tend to be the most interesting. When i read a blog, i’m not just interested in the subject. I’m also interested in the author. I want to know about how others view the world. Humor makes no promise of predetermined truth or reality. It’s about experience and perception. So, this shall henceforth be my blogging mantra:

  • Experience
  • Perception
  • Personality
  • ….and perhaps a little less whine, bite, and purge.

I have very little experience with writing, but i like the idea of learning more about the art of being an entertaining author. I’ve always been told that the best way to be a good writer, is to be a good reader. In that case, there is something important about me that you should know. Something that will cause many of you to tremble in fear and disgust….

I don’t have a great relationship with books. I’m not an avid reader. I’m not even a casual reader. I’m more of a one-night-stand reader. That book will wake up on my pillow, wide open, smelling like a cheap merlot, annoyed that i fell asleep before we even got to the good part. That book is going to be damn lucky if i call it the next day. Three weeks later, it will end up back on the shelf. It’s the slowest walk of shame ever. Next year, we’ll dance this same dance all over again.

However, i WILL say that my inexperience has saved me from the fate of pretension. I can’t be too hoity toity when my grammar stinks, i rarely capitalize my “i”, and i tend to use a lot of 4-letter words just because they’re short, damn it.

But if 2012 is going to be the year of writing, it should also be the year of    *siiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh*   r e a d i n g.  I’m going to work on compiling a list of things i should read. I would list them here, but i’m afraid it might open me up to ridicule as i reveal the titles of all those books i picked up from The Dollar Tree.  I may be someone who doesn’t read, but i’m a sucker for anything with Charles Grodin’s face on the back.

I do plan to head out soon and purchase Mindy Kalings’s  Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) because she’s adorable and i want to be her. A really pasty her.

Any suggestions for humorous and thought-provoking books with training wheels???

6 responses

  1. read The Sun Also Rises. It’s short, it’s pretty straight forward and it’s about glamorous sour pusses drinking to excess in the 1920’s. Very Fun. And it’s a classic so you can feel fancy for reading it.

    1. I’d like to feel fancy.

  2. You simply HAVE TO READ “The New York Mormon Singles Halloween Dance.” Like today. I think you will laugh ’til you cry. And possibly pee yourself. That’s some seriously good humor writing. The author is experienced at being a New York Mormon Single…one of the best books I read last year. If you’re looking for a compelling plot with some fantasy thrown in, try “The Night Circus.”

    1. Single Mormons? That sounds funny already!

  3. Hmmm.. most of the books I read are sad and depressing. I take myself way to seriously 🙂 However, a blog I like is Molly Barker’s: http://www.wanderingthroughnothingness.com
    I am really going to think about a good book to recommend because I love to read 🙂 And don’t do it enough. read I mean, not “it”… ha ha

    1. Thanks for clearing that up, Jenny. 🙂

Leave a Reply

